Spiritual Edification

19 08 2007

I was spending some time this evening with my family talking about the Lord. More specifically my Mom, Sister, Brother in Law and Dad. This is probably my favorite thing to do, to just sit around and talk to my family about the Lord. There are many ways as Christians we can edify our spiritual lives, we can and should pray, fast, read the bible, hear a good sermon, read a great book etc. For me one of my favorite ways to get edified is to converse with fellow Christians and talk about God, talk about His goodness, His mercy, His provision, His faithfulness. There is not better conversation in this world then when God is the subject. You would be amazed how many times people have received a word from God in a simple Godly conversation, you would be amazed at how many times someones faith increased just because you were talking about God, you would be amazed how many times you encouraged someone just because the topic of your conversation was Jesus. The bible say, “Whatsoever you do in word or deed do all in the name of Jesus”. Why in the name of Jesus? Because their is power in that name, their is healing in that name, their is deliverance in that name and most of all their is love in that name. I love talking with my family because all they want to do is talk about the Lord. They want to talk about what He’s doing, what His will is, they want remember and remind each other of all the good things He has done for our family. Do you want your family to be strong? Do you want to edified? Then start by talking about the Lord. Make God the center of conversation in your home, make Him the priority in your fellowship. I want you to know that when you talk about God, He is their listening. He hears every word and whether you realize or not He is sitting there in the middle of the conversation. Is your family struggling? Talk about God. Are your friendships dry and bland? Talk about God. If you don’t have friends that like to talk about God then find some. This is what God commanded Israel, “Repeat them again and again to your children. Talk about them when you are at home and when you are on the road, when you are going to bed and when you are getting up” (Deuteronomy 6:7 NLT). The bible commands us to talk about God. Their is nothing like feeling that peace and strength in your heart that comes from talking about God. Do you want to be blessed? Do you want to change the spiritual atmosphere of your life? Do you want your faith to increase? Then just start talking about God, “Faith cometh by hearing and hearing by the word of God” (Romans 10:17 KJV). I praise God for people and families that make God the center of their lives. Pray for me I leave to our district youth camp today, pray that God would allow me to impact someones life for His honor and glory. I will be trying to blog everyday at camp if I can find an Internet connection. I would like to keep everyone posted on the services, testimonies and miracles that happen. God Bless.

Actions

Information

One response

5 03 2013
download firefox

I find it so encouraging that I’m not the only human out there over the age of 20 who doesn’t
know this kind of stuff! Time to learn *about all of it*.

Leave a Reply

