Personal Private Suffering

4 10 2007

elijah.jpg

“It is in the quiet crucible of your personal private sufferings that your noblest dreams are born and God’s greatest gifts are given in compensation for what you’ve been through” Wintley Phipps

I came across these words today and they really struck a powerful chord in my heart. I think about God and the many quiet afflictions that arise in our lives. I think about how in those secret times of suffering and struggling He always manages to bless us. But to think about it in the words that this man Wintley Phipps spoke, that our noblest dreams and greatest gifts are deposited somewhere down in our spirit in our times of secret suffering is just profound. I stand back in awe of God and praise Him for the Mountains and the Valleys. I read a quote somewhere that said, “On the mountain the Christian stands in awe but in the valley he matures” how true this is.

ELIJAH

I cant help to think about Elijah God’s chosen prophet. I think about his spiritual condition after he had just defeated the prophets of Baal. Here is a man who had just called down fire from heaven and proven to the whole world how great his God is, he had just prov-en that his God is the only God and the bible teaches us in 1 Kings 19 that he was in a state of depression. Nobody knew his condition, I am sure everyone thought He was a strong, powerful servant of God and after doing what he just did he should be on fire for God. Not so the bible say, “…and he requested that he requested for himself that he might die; and said, it is enough; now O Lord, take away my life…” I guess you could call this a personal private suffering. Elijah could not have know that in his time of greatest discouragement; this would be the launching point for Elijah’s most profound encounter with God. It is here at this time in his life that Elijah ate food prepared by an angel, traveled through a desert for 40 days on the strength of that food, spoke with God in a cave, was given a new mission by God and was appointed with the successor in his prophetic ministry.

GOD DOES’NT FORGET

Like Elijah we all have times of personal private struggle. Their are times when we wonder when God is going to answer, when God is going to open the door, when God is going to make a way. Sometimes the only answer is to keep walking, keep praying, keep doing the will of God. Sometimes we need to go 40 days on the strength of what He has already provided. We can be sure that God will not forget the sacrifice and the work we have offered up in His Kingdom. I love the last words of the book of Nehemiah, “…Remember me, O my God, for good”. God does not forget. To all the many people who are busy sacrificing for the Kingdom of God my encouragement to you is three words “He Remembers You”.

God Bless.

© 2007 Apostolic Messenger Minister Daniel Bracamonte

Actions

Information

One response

15 10 2010
Ms Leslie Lim

Thank you for this spiritual message….it came at a time of my own personal private suffering. I am at a point of thinking that God has forsaken me…and if it’s true, it will be because of my many transgressions and sins. But your message has given me hope and to continue believing, and to strengthen my faith in Him.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

